Where the wild things are

Image
I highly anticipated the release of this! Being one of my favorite books when I was younger, it astounded me that there would be a full length casted film of this(which part of me wanted to be spared from). Finding out Spike Jonez would be involved, who contributed to some of my favorite skatevideos, as well as dickhouse productions which is more than it’s fill of a therapeutic release to see, ensured me it would be great and I went to a local theater to check it out

Image

Constantly evolving on principal, this story grasped me as a pupil with exploration, adoration, and a hint of scaring the crap out of me. Max in the storyline has been what he feels to be disrespected(children with good ideas do not go do bed without dinner) he thinks so anyway, and his mother feels otherwise, as she pays more attention to others than him. He runs away from home wearing his favorite clothes.. his wolf costume, in the midst of running away he not only leaves physically but mentally to a world away and is inhabited by leering, opinionated, ‘scary’, wild beasts who are actually much like himself in many ways.. They accept him as their friend after he proclaims himself a king who can magically solve all their problems. This paradox of their acceptance and his acceptance contrasts, pessimism and self expression
Image

I rated this highly, because it is more traditional in it’s values, did not need a very large level blockbuster promotion and over compensation; itself on the way to being a classic standing the test of the difference of ideals.

About 130world

I love to cover various types of art aswell as share my own with everyone View all posts by 130world

Leave a Reply

